About Me

I created this website to help potential employers get to know me as an individual other than just another resume. My hope is that this site helps you to understand more about who I am as a person as well as a potential employee.

I will start with a little background of where I came from. I was born and raised on a farm in Northwest Iowa by wonderful parents. I have 2 sisters and one step-sister. I lost my mother in a car accident when I was 21 and expecting her 1st grandchild. The loss was extremely difficult and my personal life was drastically effected. I am thankful now for all that I have learned over the years and for the wonderful step-mom and step-sister I now have in my life.

Both of my parents worked very hard and believed in fighting for the American Dream. They instilled in us at a very young age that you have to work hard for what you want in life.  I remember walking beans at 6 years old as a family and I did so until after high school, not only for my own family, but also for other area farmers. We grew up helping with the yard work, gardening, and house work. I babysat after school, weekends, and summers throughout my high school years as well. I feel that my work ethic comes from the way I was raised and I have raised my children the same way. They have asked many times why they have to do chores when their friends don’t. My answer is simple; “You will know how to take care of yourself as an adult and your friends that have never had to do any of these things won’t. You will also be raised to understand work ethic, no one deserves to just be handed things. You will learn responsibility and respect for what you have because you had to work for it.” I also tell them this is a family home and we work together as a family to keep it nice, clean, and running smoothly. My kids have never wanted for anything, but they must earn what they have. I can proudly say that each one has excellent work ethic and are doing well in life. I thank my parents for teaching me how to parent my children to become responsible adults.

I have definitely had my share of struggles over the years and I have worked very hard to get to where I am today. I wouldn’t change most of those struggles because they made me who I am today and I gained valuable experience and knowledge by going through them. I also believe going through them makes me a more understanding person to others facing the same issues in their lives. If I can help someone else than it was worth going through it myself.

I have 4 children, my youngest is in High School, 3 boys and 1 girl. I have been divorced and happily remarried. Since I married my husband in 2005, we have moved around the country a lot to follow his career. This has hurt my own work history, but does not make me a lesser employee or business owner.

I have held many positions and ran my own businesses as well over the years. I have and still dabble in Photography and Web design. I have recently published my first two books and I am currently working on the third. My hobbies include spending time with my family and friends, fitness/exercise, reading, catching up on my favorite shows, and writing. I also enjoy walking and taking in the scenery around our area, usually with my husband and our cameras. My favorite place to be is near the water, it is where I do my best thinking and relaxing. My husband and I have also found a passion in kitty rescue and now 3 dogs. We are always trying to think of more ways to make our home and acreage a little more pet friendly to give them and us more freedom and access to fresh air and grass, while still keeping them safe from the elements and from crazy people out there that just don’t understand people like us.

We are at that point in our lives that the kids are grown and living their own lives so I am focused on my career  and writing. I have found a great company and I am enjoying the people I work with as well as the job itself. My goal is to retire someday with this new company and be a part of it’s growth. It really is an exciting time for us.